Cerebral Palsy Types

Types of Cerebral Palsy

Cerebral palsy refers to a group of disorders which affect muscle coordination and body movement. It is often caused by damage to the developing brain due to factors occurring during pregnancy, birth or in the early stages of life. Cerebral palsy affects the posture and muscle tone of children and adults. The different types of the disorder are distinguished by the unique sets of symptoms that define each one.

Understanding Types Of Cerebral Palsy

Cerebral palsy may be divided into these basic types, according to the nature of the movement disorder:

  • Spastic: characterized by stiff or tight muscles

  • Dyskinetic: characterized by involuntary movement

  • Ataxic: characterized by shaky movements or tremors

  • Mixed cerebral palsy: characterized by a combination of the movement disorders listed above

In addition, cerebral palsy can be divided further into types including:

For parents, knowing your child has a particular form of cerebral palsy is only one step on the way to getting appropriate care and therapeutic treatment. CP families often rely on the advice and guidance of their physicians to direct them to appropriate care, through child development centres and other places of treatment.

Families also learn the great financial cost and personal time and attention required to give a child with cerebral palsy a positive future. At Renaud Law Group, we work to get families the care, rehabilitation and time necessary to enjoy their children and to make the most of family life.

Back to Cerebral Palsy Injuries

Get in touch

Scroll to Top